top of page

Shows at Beaulieu

I had heard of the Supecar Shows at Beaulieu but did not know if the Lttle Blue Porsche would be eligible for inclusion. However, on applying to attend the response was very positive and so started the annual pilgrimage.


At the first attendance in 2019 we were ushered into the Porsche Club area. Here there appeared to be no enthusiasm for the car and it was suggested we park at the back end of beyond under some trees. Being a bit non-plussed, I approached the Porsche dealership who was very happy to include us in their line-up of cars - despite the others on show there were for sale!


It was here that we met up with the Porsche Club abd learned that there was a Speedster Register (in theory at least but later to be found not in practice resulting in my resignation from the club). The club offered us a place in the line up of their cars the following day and it was there that I learned of the huge increase in value of the car by hearing of a LHD version on sale at Westover Sports Cars at £185,000! I don't think it ever sold but, nevertheless, it did demonstrate to me the huge increase in her value.



There was no Supercar Show in 2020 due to COVID - but the following year - after not hearing from Beaulieu despite my attempted registration - I suddenly received an email asking me to attend and to be in the Hypercar Collection on the Palace Lawns! Bit of a rainy couple of days but great fun - firstly with Guy, then with Hon.


There was no Supercar Show in 2020 due to COVID - but the following year - after not hearing from Beaulieu despite my attempted registration - I suddenly received an email asking me to attend and to be in the Hypercar Collection on the Palace Lawns! Bit of a rainy couple of days but great fun - firstly with Guy, then with Honor, my wife.



In 2022 Hon and I were ushered in to the Porsche enclosure on day 1 - all very nice - but on day 2 - by myself - having parked in the same enclosure and returned from a coffee, an official was standing by the car. "Is this your car, Sir?" Oh God thinks me - what have I done? "Well - would you mind moving her to the main arena as the most interesting Porsche on show today?" (out of perhaps 100). "Yes - but all the other Supercars are coming in that way!" "No problem, Sir, we are holding up all the other entering cars so that you can drive to the Arena." That was the moment I realised what I actually owned


Day 1

Day 2

15 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page